RSS

Decompression, Two Sleeps and The Future

30 Aug

(A late posting, and it’ll just be an actual blog night)

After two fun filled ‘four day weekends’ of conventions across North America, I am slowly getting back into the swing of things.

(It’s 2:24 AM, the usual time I post)

A most peculiar thing happened to me on Sunday evening, I read this online article regarding how Your Ancestors Didn’t Sleep Like You.

http://slumberwise.com/science/your-ancestors-didnt-sleep-like-you/

Long story short, people would hit the sack the moment it became dark.  This would be hours before the standard ‘norm’ of sleeping today.  Effectively they were ‘bed potatoes’ who would just get into their jammies and live like sleepy hobbits in their dens.

The peculiar thing is, within a day of reading this article, I found myself falling asleep at much earlier hours.  Falling asleep would be a passive description to the actual ‘dropped like a stone’ event, passing out on couches, ignoring brightly lit monitors and in various states of non-sleep-readiness as if some big game hunter had just shot me full of tranquilizer from the hallway window.

For whatever reason, I had suddenly joined the community of having two sleeps.

I’d wake up in a dreadful state, around 2AM, go through a very slow pre-bed routine and gargle with mouthwash.  It would appear my first sleep was an open drool type of sleep, leaving an aftertaste that said “this breath would kill the warning canary in a coal mine”.  I’m quite certain I’ve discovered the breath of the ancestors.

I’d go back to sleep around 3 or 4AM and then the day would be as per normal with no changes in energy level.  It was like I was doing my usual routine except now I’ve subtracted 6 hours from my day.  Forcibly passing out several nights in a row at such an early hour delayed this blog, took away my jog, and I fell behind in the numerous media entertainments I’ve been conditioned to follow.

If I was to hazard a guess, I was probably just exhausted from the past ten days.  If I was to make a second guess, I could make the argument that my state of mind was so fatigued that the idea of living the life of two sleeps (spending 10-12 hours in bed) just was something I couldn’t pass up.

(Luckily it was only temporary, and I’m back to ‘one sleep’.  In an interesting sidenote, I see that my usual sleep pattern is one of someone who would ‘skip first sleep’ and only take the second that occurs in the early morning.)

Nonetheless, I did do some thinking in between these red eye hours.  Two impacting TedTalks that I had covered earlier in the year.

Automatic cars and Google Glass.

Both of these represent inevitable ‘updates’ to society.

Yesterday Nissan announced plans to have an affordable autonomous car by 2020.   (http://motherboard.vice.com/blog/nissan-plans-to-sell-a-self-driving-car-in-just-seven-years)

A few days earlier tech experts announced that Google Glass will be a dead product on arrival.  (well, if it keeps the goal of being an ultra luxury product at $1,500)  (http://finance.yahoo.com/blogs/daily-ticker/google-glass-dead-arrival-why-153427339.html )

However, assuming these do become norms.  That 13 year old one percent-er who shows up to class might say, “Sorry I’m late, my car was low on gas”.  Graduated licensing might indeed take a major change but an even bigger change would be in the world of recreational motor homes.

The RV that you can pack your family into, transforms into the mobile travel lodge.  As an entire family unit, you can play boardgames, watch a movie and sleep all night and in the morning the family arrives at their vacation destination.  This is actually better than air travel, in a multitude of ways.

Locations that are six to eight hours away by car become over night naps on the road.  Truckers can technically work ‘forever’ (or… be completely out of a job) as shipments now move themselves while still obeying traffic laws.

The company that becomes the cornerstone of automated travel, is going to be huge, that might be why there’s already signs of a tech race in the works.

In a similar notion the ‘smart gear’ revolution, from Pebble watches, Google Glass, ‘Chip wear’, these are likewise inevitable norms.  Currently the focus is both utility and entertainment but its that clever twist that will steal the market.  As long as most data remains text driven the ‘eyeball sized viewscreens’ are going to have issues.  Cloud computing is about having your computer on any virtual dumb terminal, wearable private computer systems that can use dumb terminals would probably be more popular.  (Let’s face it, people want to keep whats ‘theirs’)

There is a current trend of re-modding traditional control systems to access our androids/iphones and Ouyas.  (If you’re going to play a game, you want to have the best controls system possible)  It’s possible that this might occur with wearable tech (aka> using best interface, like not talking to Google Glass, and instead plugging in a keyboard) however it’s much too early to see the trend.

(What should exist is a Google Glass camera split to represent two eyes for virtual recording streams and promote virtual tourism.)

Life is amazing.  Getting philosophical about it, why are we alive now?  At this specific point in time, where so many things are about to change?

How lucky we are.

(Don’t get me started on how we’re supposed to become immortal in a few decades)

It’s 3:30, I think I better use some mouthwash.

-ED

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
