RSS

The RGD TED Party

08 Jun

Writing on the fly on WordPress is a bit more dangerous than I realized.

Why?  Well, it starts with the fact I like to write with a hundred windows open that shoot all over the internet like a spider web of lag and information (mostly lag).

Accidentally press the back button on the wrong window, and I instantly realized I should be working in a standard word application.  Aw to hell with that, let’s live on the edge and type this raw.  (Seriously, anyone who reads just one of these blog entries should instantly recognize the signs of the ‘off the cuff’ writing style; multiple spelling errors, atrocious grammar mistakes, thoughts that run in pointless circles and random references to Gandalf / Aquaman and episodes of Community.  (PS> Aquaman sucks)

It’s that grab the seat of life and make no apologies mentality that brought me to the RGD TED Party.

It started with seeing a friend post “TED Party on Tuesday!” as her status, which I responded to with a lifted eyebrow brimming with curiosity.

An email here, registration form there, a drive to the Madison Pub and I was there!

It was the Association of Registered Graphic Designers of Ontario Provisional Team’s Social TED Party, an event held a couple times a year.  (Btw, I’ll be referring the above as RGD from now on… no reason)

Now I admit, I was late to the party / viewing.  Luckily, I had ended up sitting beside Lisa, one of the co-ordinators / Provisional team members who was hosting the event itself.  Friendly and enthusiastic, she gave me the basics about RGD and the event itself.

Note: RGD Ontario’s website can be found here: http://www.rgdontario.com/

Aside, I can see many benefits to having events like these.  Bringing groups of professionals together always gives birth to possible collaborations, networking and its a fun way to maintain friendships within the organization.  It also allows for them to pass along information and details about RGD to those that might be interested in learning more.

Each member had selected a TED Talk and each gave a small description / reason why they had selected that TED Talk to be viewed.  In some cases the reason was left to the audience member to decide but there was definitely a theme of design / humor that ran throughout the night.

In no particular order the TED Talks selected were:

Jane Chen: A warm embrace that saves lives

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/jane_chen_a_warm_embrace_that_saves_lives.html

David Kelley on human-centered design

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/david_kelley_on_human_centered_design.html

Joe Sabia: The technology of storytelling

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/joe_sabia_the_technology_of_storytelling.html

Tim Brown on creativity and play

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/tim_brown_on_creativity_and_play.html

David McCandless: The beauty of data visualization

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/david_mccandless_the_beauty_of_data_visualization.html

Sarah Kay: If I should have a daughter …

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/sarah_kay_if_i_should_have_a_daughter.html

Now the selections above were actually quite fascinating to me, for in almost every case (except Jane Chen’s Talk which I hadn’t seen before), I had considered doing a write up on their TED Talk but decided not to.

The reasons why I had passed writing over the 5 others are each unique to the situation where I had first viewed them.  Maybe it didn’t relate specifically to the feeling I had that week or maybe there was something about that talk that did or did not stand out to me.

And it was in this difference, that these would be the top TED talks they wanted to show that opened my eyes about them.

There were brief moments throughout the night for members to get to know each other.  In some talks, like Tim Brown’s interactive audience moments, papers were passed along for the designers in the room to give it a try as well.

The most well received TED Talk, was selected by the co-ordinator Terra, this was the Sarah Kay: If I should have a daughter selection.  (It is also with this Talk I’ll be delving into this week.)  Go spoken word poetry!

With the TED Talks completed, the various audience members slowly drifted out.  A couple stopped midway while exiting and asked if they could be invited to the next TED Party.

I understood exactly where they were coming from, after all, a TED Party is a great idea.

– Eugene

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 8, 2012 in In General..

 

Leave a Reply

 
