RSS
Link
16 Mar

Terry Moore: How to tie your shoes

And now to actually talk about a Ted talk.  (the other two tonight, did not count)

This short but enlightening talk can be found here: http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/terry_moore_how_to_tie_your_shoes.html

Time: 2 minutes, 59 seconds

(wow, tonight is a big blogging night, how did it become so late already?)

I really liked this talk, it is the simplest thing to tie one’s shoes but it is great to find out there is a better way with which we can do it.  Most importantly, it taught me that I was tying my shoes wrong and that how I can immediately correct it.

One Sentence Summary

“How to tie your shoes.”

Yeah, it can be that simple.

What caught me off guard.

Well for one, its about tying shoes.  It’s hard to believe there could be a TED talk about tying shoes.  This isn’t some hypothetical conundrum or ‘life as we know it hangs in the balance’ kind of talk, this isn’t a talk about a life changing event, what this talk is about making our own lives a tiny fraction better by improving something that isn’t questioned normally.  And heck, he even brings a demonstration shoe.

Another thing that caught me off guard, is that this talk seems to load poorly.  It seems to get stuck about midway through but I’ll blame my internet connection and assume it is not related to the TED site.

Questions

Ok, if I’m tying my shoe inefficiently, what other things am I doing inefficiently?  If I were to guess, I’d imagine quite a lot.  In fact, there are websites dedicated to showing me the error of my ways.

http://pinterest.com/   Pinterest is an online pinboard.  So it covers many more topics than ‘better ways to do things’, however there are some real gems about using common household objects in improved ways.

Let’s see if I can find some:

http://pinterest.com/pin/141863456982267260/ – recycling an old basketball into a purse, or.. clutch?  (I only recently learned the distinction)

http://pinterest.com/pin/206461964137347818/ – home made icepack, created by sealing Dawn cleaning soap into a ziplock freezer bag.

Wow, I don’t know this site very well so it looks like disorganized chaos to me.  There’s plenty more helpful hints but it’ll take more exploration time than I would have for tonight’s post.

What else?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=An0mFZ3enhM – How to fold a T Shirt in 2 seconds.

I knew about this one for quite some time, but in this video it advertises a thing called videojug.com.  I don’t know what this so I’ll quickly scope it out.

Woah, jackpot..

http://www.videojug.com/ – A how to website for pretty much everything.  As I’ve just discovered this website, I cannot say for certain if these videos are natural improvements to standard methods.  These could simply be alternate methods or novel ideas, but in any case it looks like it has hours upon hours of how to do videos.  And here I thought I knew how to do things, dang it.

(So out of curiosity, I did a random search.  In this case, juggling.  I can juggle quite well and every once in a while, I’ll actually practice.  To the untrained eye, I’m quite advanced.  Compared to professionals, I’m still a mid level beginner.  In any case, in this one subject, videojug appears to be lacking.)

On the other hand, this is a cart before the horse type of thinking.   I’m looking for ‘more efficient’ ways to do things without actually having a list of things I’d like to do more efficiently.

So in other words, if you want to find stuff on the web, be specific.

I’m going to see if I can find some everyday task and then find a more ‘efficient’ way to do this.  It is highly possible that the internet has better methods to do everything so let’s find out.

Hah, got it.  ‘How to Tie your Shoes’

And the Google search result is… ridiculous.  Approx 10 million results?  The first is a Youtube video, followed by the Terry More Ted talk.  Going down a little more, there is a runner’s world video that seems to be the most technically sound (with fancy words like ‘Granny knot’).  http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-240-319–13001-0,00.html

So now that it’s been discussed, what can we/I do?

Well this makes an interesting dilemma.  As much as it is nice to know the most efficient method to do everything, the process of sorting and finding the most efficient method is almost equally inefficient.  It would appear to me that if you’re willing to get by on using inferior methods that work for you, then why not? Sure it does help to know better and that your mom/dad, school teacher, kung fu master was in the wrong, but that’s life.  Technology improves over time, methods improve over time and sometimes we learn over time too.

Now if I had my way, I’d cut off all my shoelaces and replace them with velcro.  Dress shoes be damned, it’s about maximizing efficiency of labor versus the rewards of shoe stability!

Note to Self: TED Talks has an Android app, I should try to review this at some point.

– Updated Every Thursday

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2012 in TED Talks

 

6 responses to “Terry Moore: How to tie your shoes

  1. http://virginiabeachgolf.webs.com

    August 3, 2013 at 11:54 PM

    I was recommended this website by my cousin.
    I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem. You’re amazing!
    Thanks!

     
  2. golf swing

    January 28, 2014 at 8:29 AM

    Hey very іnteresting blog!

     
  3. buy followers

    April 24, 2014 at 1:43 PM

    Hello, i believe that i noticed you visited my site thus i got here to go back the want?.I’m attempting to find issues to enhance my website!I guess
    its adequate to make use of some of your ideas!! buy followers for a discount along with quick, Get Real Fans for ones user profile.

    A great way to buy twitter followers cheap should be to include celebrities attract some sort of
    article for you personally.
    Have more Traffic by simply buy twitter followers for the Profile efficient method.

     
  4. best web free audio hosting sites for blogs

    April 26, 2014 at 1:54 AM

    Howdy, I do believe your website could possibly be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Other than that, fantastic site!

     
  5. Palm Beach Pool Service

    July 25, 2014 at 7:56 PM

    I’m not certain the place you are getting your information,
    but good topic. I must spend some time studying more or working
    out more. Thank you for magnificent information I
    was searching for this information for my mission.

     
  6. world wide tour packages

    September 12, 2014 at 8:29 PM

    I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or
    understanding more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this information for my mission.

     

Leave a Reply

 
